Who’s Yellow Callop Classic
  |  First Published: December 2006

South Australians took out the top four categories in the first running of the 5RM ‘Who’s Yellow Callop Classic’, for 2006.

Ten teams entered the event, which was held in the Murray River both above and below Old Customs House near Paringa. The course proved to be a tough hunting ground for the competitors as dirty water combined with falling river levels mixed with high winds provided many obstacles for the competitors involved.

Hard body lures in smaller sizes seemed to be the undoing of many of the fish caught, yet the popular Jackall lipless crankbait caught the fish for the winning team. Other lipless crankbaits that caught fish were the new e-chip lure that emits a pulse through the water. Only one fish was caught on a spinnerbait and the rest were captured on a variety of small minnow type lures.

The Biggest Callop prize went to Dion Johnson for his 1.3kg ripper and earned him $100 plus Humminbird Sounder. The Rivermates Door Prize of $100 was won by Nigel Stacy and Heath Louttit, while the First Day Prize of two free tickets into the Cod Opening Classic plus $50 went to Dion Johnson and Bronte Kent.

The Cleanest Campsite belonged to the Renmark/Paringa boys who collected a $100.00 voucher from Paringa Roadhouse and the Inspiration Prize of a Daiwa Reel plus Rays Outdoor Voucher went to Matt Crowell and Adam Hatswell.

Well that just about completes the wrap up on this event except to thank the following sponsors; ABT, 5RM, Murray Pioneer News Pty Ltd, Platypus Fishing Lines, Rays Outdoors, Tica Fishing, S.A. Bait, SnapBack Spinnerbaits, Taylor Made Lures, Mudeye Lures, Lawson Lures, StrikeBack Tackle, Bikes and Boats Renmark and Loxton, BLA, Paringa Roadhouse, Rivermate Boats, Hytek Concrete Products, Kroemers Custom Furniture, Tony Bennett’s Mulwala Cod Opening Classic.

I’ve no doubt the popularity of these events will grow over a period of time and I truly wish to see more people looking outside the square and grasp a new format in fishing. - B.J.Bochow



AnglerFish WeightLurePrize

Team One

Rob Johnson11.6kgSmall hard body$50 plus tackle
Daniel Prior00

Team Two

Matt Crowell1750ge-chip rattler
Adam Hatswell00

Team Three

Joe Gorham00
Tom Hahn00

Team Four

Joel Brymer1950gSpinnerbait
Jeremy Got One00

Team Five

Nigel Stacy00
Heath Louttit00

Team Six

Neil Kromer1 1.2kgMcGrath 60mm minnow$50 plus tackle
Shane Crooke00

Team Seven

Graeme Clarke00
Mick Yates00

Team Eight

Dion Johnson22.4kgJackall TN60$200 plus tackle
Bronte Kent00

Team Nine

Ivan Awramon21.7kgHard body$100 plus tackle
Anthony Lowery00

Team Ten

Daniel Hein1650gPoltergeist 60mm
Jonathon Wenske00

Reads: 1884

Matched Content ... powered by Google