Malloy Toughs it out on Clarrie Hall
  |  First Published: July 2008

A freshly risen dam and overcast conditions greeted anglers for the second and final Clarrie Hall Dam round of the 2008 Motorguide BASS Electric Series. Tough conditions and an absence of legal fish was the order of the day with the 42 angler field delivering 29 fish to the scales for the six hours of tournament angling.

Handing the challenge the best and claiming his first BASS Electric win was 29 year old Collingwood Park resident Dan Malloy, 2/2, 2.10kg. Fishing a rockwall lined cove in the middle reaches of the dam Malloy used a purple coloured 1/8oz TT Switchblade hoped out from the edges to fill his bag.

The tackle used to present his tournament winning TT blades included a 7’ Pflueger Medalist rod, 2500 Daiwa Tierra spin reel, spooled with 6lb Berkley Crystral Fireline, and 17lb nylon leader.

Malloy’s day on the water almost didn’t occur with the event winner having to make an urgent dash back to Murwillumbah to purchase a NSW fishing license.

“It wasn’t the ideal start to the day, but you have to have one to fish, and as it turned out we got back in time for the 7am start,” explained Malloy.

Claiming the runners-up position was Murwillumbah local and Clarrie Hall regular Andrew Dyson, 2/2, 1.88kg. Fishing the old Doon Doon Road a short distance from the tournament start line, Dyson like many anglers in the field opted for a jighead rigged soft plastic approach to score his fish.

“I fished the water colour change, slow hoping the lure across the bottom in about four to six metres of water,” explained the 37 year old basser.

The tackle used by Dyson to score his fish included a 6’8” G.Loomis GL2 spin rod, Shimano Stradic 1000 reel, spooled with 6lb Berkley Fireline, and 8lb Berkley Vanish leader. While his money lure was a 3” Slider grub in plum/chartreuse tail colour.

For more information visit www.australianbass.com.au or phone ABT (07) 3268 7958. – ABT



PlaceAnglerFishWeight (kg)
1Dan Malloy2/22.10
2Andrew Dyson2/21.88
3Hans Jensen2/21.65
3Craig Floyd2/21.65
5Joseph Urquhart2/21.57
6Steve McLean2/21.31
7Jesper Noisen2/21.30
8Ian Galloway2/21.20
9Dave Bullard2/21.13
10Adrian Melchior2/21.13

Reads: 1062

Matched Content ... powered by Google